top of page

Board of Directors


The Aerospace Legacy Foundation is lead by an Executive Board of five directors. These directors are elected from a nominated

candidate list by the membership every two years. In addition to the Executive Board an Advisory Board was formed in 2007 to provide guidance and direction to the Executive Board.

Arlene Busby Head Shot.jpg

Arlene Busby

Seth Potter head shot.jpg
Vice President

Seth  Potter

Organizational Liaison

Arlene started her Presidency in January 2017.  She took over as President after her duly elected (2016 election) husband James M. Busby who was to start his Presidential term in January 2017 died  in June 2016.  Arlene is currently in her second term. 

She also started a new Science/Science Fiction convention called OuteRimCon the mini con which is set up to fund the organizations many projects.  Due to the COVID Pandemic OuteRimCon is on hold for now. Other pursuits Arlene is involved with is the aerospace speaker’s bureau which includes other space organizations and groups.  She is also Vice President of OASIS part of the National Space Society. Her moto is never give up an opportunity to educate on the history of the aerospace industry. 

Matthew Monahan Head Shot.jpg

Matthew Monnihan

Outreach Chair

Matthew has been Treasurer since 2019

He has been a lifelong resident of Los Angeles county and has had a lifelong interest in aerospace and its history. Doing his own research, he has in recent years joined the Aerospace Legacy Foundation as outreach chairman and has given talks on space programs at the last two OuteRimCon conventions as well as the last international space development conference.

Seth joined the BOD in 2019

He has worked extensively in the aerospace industry, where his experience has included space-based solar power, wireless power transmission, robotic satellite servicing, lunar and planetary mission design, radar system design, and solid-state electronics. He holds a Ph.D. in Applied Science from New York University, as well as Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Physics from Columbia University. He is a member of the National Space Society Board of Advisors and President of the OASIS – Los Angeles Chapter of NSS. In addition, he is a member of the Council of the Los Angeles – Las Vegas Section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He has worked with A-MAN, Inc., a K-12 STEM Learning Center in Southern California on a Global Learning XPRIZE entry. He is also on the Advisory Board of the Aerospace Legacy Foundation, an organization dedicated to preserving Southern California's aerospace history. He is currently an independent consultant, working on a project with the Naval Research Laboratory

Timothy Cassidy-Curtis Head  Shot.jpg

Timothy Cassidy Curtis

Tim has been Board Secretary since 2020.

He has been published in NOVA, the Magazine of Science Fiction, and the Orange County Science Fiction Club (OCSFC) Chapter Book (all Editions). Tim has been involved with space and space exploration almost his entire professional life. Tim is taking over being the closest thing to a “President” that the OCSFC has, succeeding after several decades of great, dedicated service by Greg Funke. Tim is also a Life Member of the Aerospace Legacy Foundation and serves on the ALF Board of Directors.


Gil Bevenflorez

Advisory Board

Executive Advisor

Gerald Blackburn

Gerald Blackburn is a Founding Member of the ALF and Past President. He is an Aerospace Engineer who worked at the Downey site for 40 years. He currently is a Director of the Columbia Memorial Space Center Foundation.

bottom of page